Movie Review: Mission Impossible II

Image result for mission impossible 2 movie poster free useTom Cruise returns as Ethan Hunt in the theatrical sequel, this time around directed by John Woo. Wikipedia will tell you Woo is notorious for chaotic action scenes and slow-motion, an assertion I agree with. This film has its fair share of both of these elements and while the slow-motion especially can be unnecessary at times, it never annoyed me or got in the way of my enjoyment of the film.

Woo has also directed Face/Off, a movie that highlights the superb acting qualities of John Travolta and Nicholas Cage and yes, I’m being serious about Nicholas Cage. Just watch and see for yourself. Broken Arrow with Travolta and Christian Slater is also not too shabby so I knew this guy was capable of high-quality work going in.

We got some romance in this one, featuring Thandie Newton, and even though Ethan and Newton’s character, Nyah, haven’t known each other long, the chemistry between them is believable.

Sean Ambrose (Dougray Scott) is sinister, ruthless and easy to hate, a far better villain than Voight was in the first film. Its intensity is bone-chilling and of course, suspenseful.

Cruise paints a more thorough picture of Hunt here, showing that he does have some feelings and some humanity to him. Action films can sometimes get too caught up with the action, causing the script to feel lacking at times when it comes to the dialogue. If you do the action right, I can live with a slightly above average script. It’s when you give me stereotypical characters with sub-par actors that I start to doubt the ingenuity of the screenwriters as well as that of the story. I like my creativity and when I’m not convinced of the story’s potential, it can be disappointing. Looking at you, Pacific Rim.

I don’t feel that’s the case here because while the script may not have layer upon layer of substance, the character portrayals are elaborate enough that they deserve their own character frame rather than be categorized with all of the cookie-cutter copies. There’s also the added icing of the surprise plot twists and gadgetry, which adds a little extra flair to the film. The third act exceeds expectations by far and includes some oodles of awesomeness.

Once again, if you’re new to my blog,  I’ve always ranked movies on a scale of 0-100 (I don’t know why, I just always have). Here’s the grading scale.

 90-100  It’s a great movie and definitely one worth buying. (The Secret Life of Walter MittyThe Green MileThe Lord of the Rings: The Two TowersThe Lord of the Rings: The Return of the KingMission Impossible)

80-89   It was a pretty good movie and definitely one worth seeing, but it doesn’t quite scratch my top ten percentile. (Iron ManLone SurvivorThe Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the RingThe Next Three DaysBasic)

70-79   It’s okay but I’ve seen better. It has its moments, but it has its flaws, too. (21 Jump StreetEscape PlanCaptain America: The First AvengerDawn of the DeadFlyboys)

60-69   It’s got plenty wrong with it but I still got enjoyment out of this one. (Pacific RimThe Long Kiss GoodnightDisaster Movie)

50-59   This movie isn’t intolerable but it’s not blowing my mind either. I’m trying really hard to get some sort of enjoyment out of this. (AliensAlien ResurrectionFull Metal JacketThorYou’re Next)

40-49   This movie is just mediocre. It’s not doing anything other than the bare minimal, so morbidly boring that sometimes I’m actually angry I watched this. (The Great GatsbyPitch BlackAlienSerendipity, Cowboys and Aliens)

30-39   Definitely worse than mediocre, the 30’s ironically define the 1930’s, full of depression, lack of accomplishments, poverty and just so dumb. (The ContractPride and PrejudiceRedemption)

20-29   What did I just watch? Cliches, stupidity, nothingness, did I mention stupidity? Just…wow. (The Sum of All FearsThor: The Dark World)

0-19      Watching this movie resulted in one or more of the following: seizure, loss of brain cells, falling asleep/unconsciousness, feel you wasted your time/day, accomplished nothing for you, left the movie knowing less about it then you did going into it, constantly asking yourself why you came to see this movie, or near-death experience. In short, staring at a wall was just as entertaining as watching this movie. This movie deserved a sticker or a label that said, “WARNING: EXTREME AMOUNT OF SUCKAGE.” (Midnight CowboyDark FuryAlien 3Open Grave)

My score for Mission Impossible II: 94.

Mission Impossible II has a more definite compass point than its predecessor as well as better direction and screenwriting, although I feel like it’s not quite hitting the ceiling of its potential. That said, this movie is still energizing and an adrenaline rush for all who have the courage and decency to watch it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

Days Gone

Meeting the insanity that is reality

epileptic moondancer

Sporadic film reviews by a wanna-be filmmaker

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

pickoftheflix

EMPIRE'S 301 GREATEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME REVIEWED - to watch or not to watch?

Shit Jon Gruden Says

"Spider 2 Y Banana Shake?"

kylerehm005

I will show the world( or whoever reads this) my passion for movies, sports, life and Jesus

ramblingsofsam

A place for sharing, fleshing out, and fine-tuning thoughts and ideas

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews - New and older releases!

Thomas J

My Journey Through Film

SnapCrackleWatch

A blog dedicated to television and movies

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

Silver Screen Serenade

Praising the high notes and lamenting the low notes of all things film and television

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

wordsofwistim

For those searching for wistim regarding life, sports, movies and more

Dan the Man's Movie Reviews

All my aimless thoughts, ideas, and ramblings, all packed into one site!