Movie Review: The Truman Show

You know what Hollywood lacks these days? Originality. Perhaps it is because fewer and fewer people go to the theaters to see movies each year, or because of the risks that are involved when filmmakers try to make a film that is different from the rest. Perhaps still, it is because the filmmakers don’t care whether or not their audiences like the movies. Maybe they just want the money.

Regardless of what reason it is (I’m going to go with the risk factor personally), movies these days lack originality, creativity and uniqueness, something that would make me get excited to see a movie. The last movie I recalled that displayed these elements was Now You See Me. I wrote a review on it and if you haven’t gotten a chance to check it out, click the link here to do so. Now You See Me was not a perfect movie and I was a little disappointed with it, but it was still something new that I was happy I went to see. Besides that, I can’t think of the last movie I saw that had some true originality to it.

If you really want to see something different, something original, a film that presents a simple yet thought-provoking idea, watch The Truman Show.

I have to be careful with what I say here because I don’t want to give you too much, but I also want to peak your interest. Here’s what I can say: the movie stars Jim Carrey as Truman Burbank and Jim Carrey is not doing his dumb humor routine. This movie is a drama, not a comedy. I know seeing Jim Carrey’s name usually means comedy, but this is not the case this time. Similar to The Majestic, (which I haven’t seen in forever. I really need to watch that again.) Jim Carrey gives a heartfelt dramatic performance that establishes character connection with the audience. His character is simple yet complicated.
The majority of the supporting cast does a overachieving demonstration of the script and many of the side characters make the movie what it is.

Aside from that, I’m not comfortable divulging any more of the plot. If you want to read more, check out the spoiler’s edition. I won’t spoil any major elements. I’ll just be revealing more of the plot.

Once again, if you’re new to my blog,  I’ve always ranked movies on a scale of 0-100 (I don’t know why, I just always have). Here’s the grading scale.

 90-100  It’s a great movie and definitely one worth buying. (Iron Man 3World War Z42)

80-89   It was a pretty good movie and definitely one worth seeing, but it doesn’t quite scratch my top ten percentile. (Now You See MeMan of SteelMonster-In-LawWhite House DownJobs)

70-79   It’s okay but I’ve seen better. It has its moments, but it has its flaws, too. (OblivionThe WolverineJagged EdgeElysium, Shaun of the Dead)

60-69   It’s got plenty wrong with it but I still got enjoyment out of this one. (Pacific RimThe Long Kiss Goodnight)

50-59   This movie isn’t intolerable but it’s not blowing my mind either. I’m trying really hard to get some sort of enjoyment out of this. (After EarthRoad to PerditionTotal RecallDodgeball: A True Underdog StoryAlong Came Polly)

40-49   This movie is just mediocre. It’s not doing anything other than the bare minimal, so morbidly boring that sometimes I’m actually angry I watched this. (Patriot GamesThe Great GatsbyPitch Black)

30-39   Definitely worse than mediocre, the 30’s ironically define the 1930’s, full of depression, lack of accomplishments, poverty and just so dumb. (The ContractPride and Prejudice)

20-29   What did I just watch? Cliches, stupidity, nothingness, did I mention stupidity? Just…wow. (The Sum of All Fears)

0-19      Watching this movie resulted in one or more of the following: seizure, loss of brain cells, falling asleep/unconsciousness, feel you wasted your time/day, accomplished nothing for you, left the movie knowing less about it then you did going into it, constantly asking yourself why you came to see this movie, or near-death experience. In short, staring at a wall was just as entertaining as watching this movie. This movie deserved a sticker or a label that said, “WARNING: EXTREME AMOUNT OF SUCKAGE.” (Midnight CowboyDark Fury)

My score for The Truman Show: 87.

The creativity of the story coupled with the performances of the actors really makes this movie what it is. It’s not quite a must-buy, but I would strongly urge you to go see it. It presents you with a new outlook on life, or at least it did for me. Director Peter Weir and writer Andrew Niccol do a phenomenal job with this.

*SPOILER ALERT* IF YOU DON’T WANT THE MOVIE SPOILED, STOP READING!!!

*SPOILER’S EDITION*

The whole movie is a TV show. Truman is watched every day by thousands of cameras. He is inside a giant dome and has lived there his whole life, only he doesn’t know it. He thinks he’s in the real world. All of the interactions he has between people are scripted. The only thing that’s not scripted is what he says. Everywhere he goes he is watched. Everyone is an extra, everyone is in on it, and Truman Burbank doesn’t know a thing. The show is broadcasted 24/7 without commercial interruptions. Throughout the movie, the filmmakers give us glimpses of the audience and show us how they interact with what’s going on on-screen. Eventually, Truman starts to notice a couple of peculiar things and realizes he wants to go away, go on an adventure and do something different for a change, which the filmmakers can’t allow because the set only goes so far.

While this would never happen in real life, the plot is still very intriguing. As someone who isn’t that much into traveling myself, I realized that I could be in Truman’s position and would probably never know it. Aside from a yearly vacation to New Jersey, a few visits to Ohio and D.C., and one-time visits to Maryland and Florida, I’ve never been anywhere else. If the set was as big as it is in the movie, I could be in the same predicament. If the plane went in circles on its way to Florida, I probably would never know the difference because I’m afraid of heights and my only focus while in the air is keeping myself together.

It’s just a really interesting premise and I strongly encourage you to watch it. See if it spikes your curiosity as much as it did mine.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Movie Review: The Truman Show

  1. […] Movie Review: The Truman Show (wordsofwistim.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment

Days Gone

Meeting the insanity that is reality

imperfection is perfection

Sporadic film reviews by a wanna-be filmmaker

vinnieh

Movie reviews and anything else that comes to mind

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

pickoftheflix

EMPIRE'S 301 GREATEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME REVIEWED - to watch or not to watch?

Shit Jon Gruden Says

"Spider 2 Y Banana Shake?"

kylerehm005

I will show the world( or whoever reads this) my passion for movies, sports, life and Jesus

ramblingsofsam

A place for sharing, fleshing out, and fine-tuning thoughts and ideas

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews - New and older releases!

Thomas J

My Journey Through Film

SnapCrackleWatch

A blog dedicated to television and movies

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

Silver Screen Serenade

Praising the high notes and lamenting the low notes of all things film and television

Cinema Parrot Disco

Musings on Mainly Movies from a Table 9 Mutant

wordsofwistim

For those searching for wistim regarding life, sports, movies and more

Dan the Man's Movie Reviews

All my aimless thoughts, ideas, and ramblings, all packed into one site!